Getting out of my “black hole” of being too hard on yourself

So, after Scarr, I was a little stiff and disappointed with myself.

What I usually do is to train hard the following days, think of it as, you want to scream of frustration, but rather than scream I want to channel that into training.


So there I was, long working hours, do what you do when you have family at home and try to slip in some training. After all, I am part of the national squad now. I am an Elite.


The week came and went until Sunday.


A race at Banna Beach in dunes. 

I had been looking forward to that race but also put myself under pressure as Darren and Rob would come too.

This would take the chance of me winning a race.


Negative mindsets are proven to be fatal. 

In short, I felt disappointment again after the race. I came fourth, trailing 8 min behind Darren and 4 min behind Rob.


I wasted a good few minutes trying to “find” a missing control. 


On the positive I won 7 split times, Darren won “only” five which has me at the front. 

If the organisers would have cancelled the leg times of the missing control I would have been 3rd and if I would not have been overshooting on two controls I would have one.


Not too bad then, only 2 “if’s” …


So I went back after the race to run a few controls were I lost time to see why I made mistakes.

It was because I wasn’t reading the finer details on the map and overshot, it also felt that the map changed scale slightly …


See below my analyses:

The Race:


Orienteering race 58:18 [4] 8.2 km (7:07 / km) +25m 7:00 / km
ahr:159 max:173 rhr:38 slept:8.0 shoes: Inov8 Oroc

32705207874_39f0fe6bfe_o

 

The Analyses:

Trail Running warm up/down 24:59 [3] 3.26 km (7:40 / km) +10m 7:33 / km
ahr:153 max:169 shoes: Inov8 Oroc 

re-visited first 5 controls and checked route choices trying to understand why I went wrong where I did.
First 5 controls then went to 13 and from there a different route to 14 not yet sure if that would have been faster.

UPDATE:
control 13 -14 race
0.83km, 3″40′

control 13 – 14 revisit
0.78 km , 5″30′

Control 1- 5 in the race:
12″39′ 1.68km 7″28′ avg pace

Control 1 – 5 at the revisit:
11″08′ 1.42km 7″51′ avg pace

Control 3-4 race:
3″50′ , 0.48km 8’04’ avg pace

control 3-4 revisit:
3″23′ , 0.,37km 9’08’ avg pace

 

33392531402_5ebba6be34_o

Leave a Reply

